Research laboratories – Automation & Control Institute

Research laboratories

The Automation and Control Institute is also the home of different research laboratories, which are embedded in the research structure, but constitute specifically set-up and externally funded research units with a fixed term-time.

FESTO System Laboratory

The FESTO System Laboratory that is devoted to long-term issues of basic research and applied research. With this, ACIN and Festo AG strengthen their successful long-term cooperation in the field of industrial image processing and decentralized automation. Read more →

Christian Doppler Laboratory for Model-Based Process Control in the Steel Industry

In the CD-Laboratory for Model-Based Process Control in the Steel Industry, control problems from the manufacturing process of steel strip are solved. The research is focussed on hot rolling, annealing, and galvanizing of steel strips. Read more →

Christian Doppler Laboratory for Precision Engineering for Automated In-Line Metrology

The CD-Laboratory develops 3D metrology system with high resolution, suited to deal with the ever increasing demands on reliability and throughput in modern production systems. High precision and flexibility are thereby required to inspect diverse product features directly in the production line by means of in-line metrology systems. Read more →

Forschungslabore – Institut für Automatisierungs- und Regelungstechnik

Forschungslabore

Am Institut für Automatisierungs- und Regelungstechnik gibt es auch verschiedene Forschungslabore, die zwar in die Forschungsstruktur des Instituts eingebettet sind, aber eigens eingerichtete und extern finanzierte Forschungseinheiten mit fixen Laufzeiten darstellen.

FESTO Systemlabor

Das FESTO Systemlabor widmet sich langfristigen Themen der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung. Das Institut und die Festo AG vertiefen damit ihre langjährige erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der industriellen Bildverarbeitung und der dezentralen Steuerungstechnik. Weiterlesen →

Christian Doppler Labor für Modellbasierte Prozessregelung in der Stahlindustrie

Im CD-Labor für Modellbasierte Prozessregelung in der Stahlindustrie werden regelungstechnische Probleme aus den Herstellungsprozessen von Stahlband gelöst. Im Fokus stehen die Prozessschritte Warmwalzen, Glühen und Feuerverzinken von Stahlbändern. Weiterlesen →

Christian Doppler Labor für Präzisionstechnologie für Automatisierte In-Line Messtechnik

Das CD-Labor entwickelt hochauflösende 3D-Messsysteme, um den steigenden Anforderungen an Produktzuverlässigkeit und Durchsatz in modernen Produktionssystemen gerecht zu werden. Hierbei sind oftmals höchste Präzision und Flexibilität erforderlich, um Messungen direkt in der Linie durchführen zu können und verschiedene Produkteigenschaften zu bestimmen. Weiterlesen →