Mechatronic Design & System Integration

Mechatronische Systemintegration

Our research activities in the field of mechatronic design and system integration aim towards the development of an integrated systems design approach, including theoretical aspects and advanced control methods, for precision motion systems, mechatronic imaging and measurement systems, as well as for modular robotic systems. Integrated system design and advanced control will play an important role in future technology, where increasing demands on highest precision and throughput require advanced mechatronic designs and highly sophisticated controllers.

In this area we develop methods to systematically analyze, model, and synthesize the interplay between process design and control design. Already at the system design phase all components involved in the specific application have to be considered. Examples for these components are the mechanical structure of the device as well as the power amplifiers, the actuators, the sensors, the control system, and the eventual application. Further requirements may be modular system design, the potential of re-usability of individual sub-systems, and re-configurability of the overall integrated system. Simultaneously most of the future applications demand a low cost and robust implementation.

Integrated mechatronic design of a high-speed atomic force microscope (AFM) for imaging 1000-times faster than with conventional AFMs.

These challenges are inherent in various application domains that have been identified in our research and that we address in the neighboring research fields of scientific imaging systems and precision motion systems, including:

We focus on the development of an integrated mechatronic design approach, which already at the concept design of the mechatronic system allows optimizing the tradeoff between process design and control design. This holistic systems view tackles the main challenges of the selected application domains head on, and will also help mechatronic system designers in the future to overcome limitations that might result from module and component-based designs.

Here is a list of some selected research projects on Mechatronic Design and System Integration carried out by the AMS group at ACIN:

Mechatronische Systemintegration

Mechatronic Design & System Integration

Unsere Forschung zum Entwurf mechatronischer Systeme entwickelt Methoden für einen integrierten Design-Ansatz, einschließlich theoretischer Aspekte und moderner regelungstechnischer Methoden, für Präzisionspositioniersysteme, mechatronische Messsysteme und bildgebende Verfahren, wie auch für modulare Roboter-Systeme. Ein integriertes Systemdesign und moderne Regelungstechnik werden in zukünftigen wissenschaftlichen- und Produktionssystemen verstärkt eine Schlüsselrolle einnehmen, um die Anforderungen an höchste Präzision und Durchsatz erfüllen zu können.

In diesem Bereich entwickeln wir Methoden zur systematischen Analyse, Modellierung und Entwurf mechatronischer Systeme inklusive des Zusammenwirkens zwischen Systementwurf und Regelungsdesign. Dafür müssen bereits in der Konzeptphase des mechatronischen Systems sämtliche Systemkomponenten mitberücksichtigt werden, was die mechanische Struktur ebenso wie die Leistungsverstärker, Aktuatoren, Sensoren, das Regelungssystem, wie auch die eigentliche Anwendung umfasst. Zusätzliche Anforderungen an Systemkomponenten sind ein modulares Systemdesign, die Möglichkeit der Wiederverwendbarkeit einzelner Sub-Systeme, sowie eine potentielle Re-Konfigurierbarkeit des mechatronischen Gesamtsystems. Gleichzeitig verlangen viele derzeitige und zukünftige Anwendungen eine kosteneffiziente und robuste Implementierung.

Integrierter mechatronischer Entwurf eines schnellen Rasterkraftmikroskops (AFM) mit einer 1000-mal höheren Meßrate als konventionelle AFM-Systeme.

Diese Herausforderungen sind inhärent in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsdomänen, die wir zusammen mit den benachbarten Forschungsfeldern Bildgebende Systeme & Prozessmesstechnik und Präzisions-Positioniersysteme beforschen:

Wir entwickeln Methoden für einen integrierten mechatronischen Design-Ansatz, der bereits in der Konzeptphase des mechatronischen Systems das Wechselspiel zwischen Prozessdesign und Regelungsdesign berücksichtigt. Dieser holistische Systemansatz setzt direkt bei den Kernanforderungen der gewählten Anwendungsdomänen an und liefert Entwurfsmethoden für mechatronische Systeme, bei denen Limiten zufolge eines komponenten-basierten Designs vermieden werden können.

Die folgenden Links listen einige ausgewählte Forschungsprojekte in der AMS-Gruppe am ACIN zur Mechatronische Systemintegration: