Active Turbulence Suppression for Aircraft – SmartWings

Atmospheric turbulence is an unsolved problem for aviation impairing economy, safety and comfort. Current efforts to predict turbulence more accurately in order to avoid it by rerouting result in higher fuel consumption and CO2 emissions as well as reduced traffic volumes.

Approaching aircraft in atmospheric turbulence – visualization of local lift distribution and drag

Objective

In the future it should be possible to fly through atmospheric turbulences directly and reliably. The SmartWings research project at ACIN is investigating methods and technologies that are able to reduce the disturbance effects of turbulence, such as vertical accelerations, by as much as 80%.

Störbeschleunigung eines Flugzeugs in atmosphärische Turbulenz ohne und mit Turbulenzunterdrückung

Approach

Smart wing structures measuring turbulences in front of the wing and actively adjusting their shape can suppress disturbance effects of atmospheric turbulences in flight. Calculating optimum flight control outputs from the measured data is a particular control engineering challenge. It is solved by a combination of model-based feedforward and feedback control.

Highly dynamic lift control: Through the application of direct lift control, the wing lift can be varied very quickly. A novel control procedure prevents secondary short-period oscillation and thus considerably increases the lifting effect that can be achieved.

Phase compensation: Using anticipating sensors, such as pressure measurements in front of the wing or wind LiDAR, it is possible to compensate system-related time delays and the disturbances precisely at the right moment.

Adaptive structures: Innovative materials and manufacturing methods enable the use of adaptive wing structures (morphing wings) in order to adapt the wing shape specifically to the external flow field.

Applications

Active Turbulence Suppression may be applied to fixed-wing airplanes of different sizes – from micro UAV to long-haul aircraft. An essential prerequisite for implementation is a digital flight control and technical equipment on the wing in order to vary the lift quickly. For this purpose, conventional wing flaps or, in the future, novel wing structures with adaptive elements may be used.

Project Partners

Turbulence Solutions GmbH
T.I.P.S. Messtechnik GmbH
Actaron GmbH

Press Release

https://noe.orf.at/

https://www.sn.at/

https://diepresse.com/

https://www.krone.at/

Funding

funded under the program Take Off of the Austrian Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit)

Aktive Turbulenzunterdrückung für Flugzeuge – SmartWings

Atmosphärische Turbulenzen stellen für die Luftfahrt ein ungelöstes Problem dar, das Wirtschaftlichkeit, Sicherheit und Komfort beeinträchtigt. Aktuelle Bestrebungen, Turbulenzen genauer vorherzusagen und frühzeitig auszuweichen, führen zu höherem Treibstoffverbrauch und CO2-Ausstoß sowie zu verringertem Verkehrsvolumen.

Landeanflug in atmosphärischer Turbulenz – Visualisierung der lokalen Verteilung von Auftrieb und Luftwiderstands

Ziel

Zukünftig soll es möglich sein, Turbulenzen direkt und zuverlässig zu durchfliegen. Dazu werden im Forschungsprojekt SmartWings an der TU Wien Methoden und Technologien untersucht, die Störeffekte von Turbulenzen, wie beispielsweise Vertikalbeschleunigungen, um mehr als 80% reduzieren können.

Disturbance acceleration of an aircraft in atmospheric turbulence without and with turbulence suppression

Lösungsansatz

Intelligente Flügelstrukturen, die Turbulenzen vor dem Flügel messen und aktiv ihre Form anpassen, können Störeffekte von Turbulenzen im Flug unterdrücken. Aus den Messdaten optimale Flugsteuerausgaben zu berechnen, ist eine besondere regelungstechnische Herausforderung. Sie wird durch eine Kombination modellbasierter Feedforward- und Feedbackregelung gelöst.

Hochdynamische Auftriebsregelung: Durch die Anwendung von direktem Auftrieb (Direct Lift Control) kann der Flügelauftrieb sehr schnell variiert werden. Dabei verhindert ein neuartiges  Steuerungsverfahren eine sekundäre Anstellwinkelschwingung und erhöht damit den erzielbaren Effekt des Auftriebes erheblich.

Phasenrichtige Kompensation: Durch den Einsatz antizipierender Sensorik, wie beispielsweise Druckmessungen vor dem Flügel oder Wind-LiDAR, ist es möglich systembedingte Zeitverzögerungen zu kompensieren und die Störungen präzise, im richtigen Moment zu kompensieren.

Adaptive Strukturen: Neuartige Materialien und Fertigungsmethoden ermöglichen den Einsatz adaptiver Flügelstrukturen (Morphing Wings), um die Flügelform ganz gezielt auf das externe Strömungsfeld anzupassen.

Projektpartner

Turbulence Solutions GmbH
T.I.P.S. Messtechnik GmbH
Actaron GmbH

Presse-Artikel

https://noe.orf.at/

https://www.sn.at/

https://diepresse.com/

https://www.krone.at/

Projektfinanzierung

gefördert im Programm Take Off vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (bmvit)