OptoFence

Project goals

  • Development of a fast telescopesystem for UAV-Tracking
  • Kamera based control with image stabilisation
  • Realtime image and determination of trajectories

Description

Drones and other types of UAVs gained massive population in the last years not only in the professional but also in the private sector. Incidences, such as the shutdown of Gatwick airport in London due to sightings of a drone, show that the advances in UAV technology pose a public safety threat which needs to be addressed. Identification of incoming UAVs by any possible means is of paramount priority for situational assessment.
Commercial drone detection systems utilize multispectral detection systems for object detection and identification. An example is depicted in the figure below which detects some object between 5 to 10km away using radar of radio detection methods. Below 1km optical camera-based identification methods are applied to classify the flying object. This leaves in the worst case only 15 seconds to assess the situation.

UAV Erfassungszonen

Illustration of a commercial drone detection system. State of the art technology provides in worst case only 15s for optical detection, identification and situation assessment.

Our project aims to develop a telescope based optical platform to enable a larger identification area which increases the time for situational assessment significantly. The combination of a precise and fast mount, a high-quality telescope, a camera system and advanced methods of control systems and computer vision create a versatile optical platform for optical detection, tracking and identification of UAVs.

OptoFence Systemüberblick

Exemplary system for OptoFence. A telescope system allows detection and tracking of incoming objects.

 

Use case

  • UAV reconnaissance

Project partner

  • ASA Astrosystems GmbH
  • Austrian Federal Ministry of Defence

Funding

This project is funded by the Austrian defense research programme FORTE of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Regions and Tourism (BMLRT).

 

OptoFence II Logos arrangiert

OptoFence

Projektziele

  • Entwicklung eines schnellen Teleskopsystems zur UAV-Verfolgung
  • Kamerabasierte Nachführung mit Bildstabilisierung
  • Echtzeitabbildung und Trajektorienbestimmung

Beschreibung

Drohnen und andere Arten von UAVs haben in den letzten Jahren nicht nur im professionellen, sondern auch im privaten Sektor massiv an Popularität gewonnen. Vorfälle, wie die Schließung des Londoner Flughafens Gatwick aufgrund der Sichtung einer Drohne, zeigen, dass die Fortschritte in der UAV-Technologie eine Bedrohung der öffentlichen Sicherheit darstellen. Die Identifizierung ankommender UAVs auf jegliche Art ist für die Lagebeurteilung von höchster Priorität.
Kommerzielle Drohnenerkennungssysteme nutzen multispektrale Erkennungssysteme zur Objekterkennung und -identifizierung. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt ein Beispiel, bei dem ein Objekt in einer Entfernung von 5 bis 10 km mit Hilfe von Radar- oder Funkerkennungsmethoden erkannt wird. Innerhalb von 1 km werden optische kamerabasierte Identifikationsmethoden zur Klassifizierung des Flugobjekts eingesetzt. Damit bleiben im schlimmsten Fall nur noch 15 Sekunden zur Beurteilung der Situation.

UAV Erfassungszonen

Typischer, schalenartiger Aufbau eines kommerziellen Drohnendetektions- und Abwehrsystems. Unter Umständen bleiben nur 15 Sekunden für die optische Erfassung, Identifikation und Situationsbeurteilung.

Unser Projekt zielt darauf ab, eine teleskopbasierte optische Plattform zu entwickeln, um ein größeres Identifikationsgebiet zu ermöglichen, was die Zeit für die Lagebeurteilung erheblich verlängert. Durch die Kombination einer präzisen und schnellen Montierung, eines hochwertigen Teleskops, eines Kamerasystems und fortschrittlicher Methoden von Regelungssystemen und Computer Vision entsteht eine vielseitige optische Plattform für die optische Erkennung, Verfolgung und Identifizierung von UAVs.

OptoFence Systemüberblick

Beispielhafte Systemgestaltung für OptoFence. Ein Teleskopsystem erlaubt die Erfassung und Beobachtung anfliegender Objekte.

 

Anwendungen

  • Drohnenaufklärung

Projektpartner

  • ASA Astrosysteme GmbH
  • Bundesministerium für Landesverteidigung

Funding

  • FORTE 2019, FFG – Die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft
  • Bundesministerium für Landwirtschaft, Regionen und Tourismus
  • ASA Astrosysteme GmbH