Optimization of process times and product sequences in a hot-rolling mill with batch-type reheating furnaces

Project focus

Focus of TU Wien – ACIN within the SemI40 project:

  • Mathematical modeling of batch-type reheating furnaces
  • Time-optimal control of batch-type reheating furnaces
  • Optimal timetabling of reheating, rolling, and handling tasks
  • Optimization of the product sequence for a finite production horizon

Description

In semiconductor manufacturing, sputtering processes require pure metals or special alloys for sputtering targets. These targets must fulfill rigorous quality requirements in terms of shape, chemical purity, and microstructure to guarantee high-end semicondutor production. Sputtering targets with high melting points (e.g., molybdenum) are usually produced by sintering and subsequent hot-forming. Metal powders are pressed and sintered in the shape of blocks. Subsequently, these blocks are reheated in furnaces and rolled into plates (targets) by a hot-rolling mill.

plant overview

Outline of the production plant.

Figure 1 shows an outline of the considered plant. It consists of several furnaces which may be operated at different temperatures, a roller table with a reversing mill stand, and a product manipulator. The manipulator is used for all product transportation tasks between the furnaces and the roller table. The reheating process of the products in the furnaces is much more time consuming than the rolling passes at the reversing mill stand. Moreover, intermediate reheating steps are necessary between some rolling passes. Due to the fact that hot products cannot be stored, the availability of the required machines at the respective times has to be guaranteed. Hence, the productivity of the plant depends strongly on the required reheating times and the temporal shuffling of the process tasks. The goals of this project are to minimize the reheating times and to optimize the product sequence and the starting times of the process tasks to achieve the maximum product throughput.

A thermal simulation model for the product and furnace temperatures is developed as a basis for the minimization of the reheating times. Figure 2 shows its general components. Based on the simulation model, minimal reheating times can be determined in advance and the temperature evolution of the products can be estimated during the reheating processes. Moreover, the model can be used as a design model for a time-optimal control strategy of the reheating furnaces.

Thermal modeling of the furnaces.

Furthermore, a software tool is developed which optimizes the product sequence and the process times of all process tasks. The algorithm utilizes the minimal reheating times and known rolling and handling times of all products for an upfront planning horizon. The underlying combinatorial optimization problem (flexible job shop scheduling problem) is known to be NP-hard. The problem is split into the determination of the process times for a known product sequence (timetabling problem) and a superordinate optimization of the product sequence. The optimal process times are determined by a tailored recursive algorithm, and the product sequence is optimized using heuristic methods.

Selected publications

  • A. Aschauer, F. Roetzer, A. Steinboeck, and A. Kugi, An Efficient Algorithm for Scheduling a Flexible Job Shop with Blocking and No-Wait Constraints, in Proceedings of the 20th IFAC World Congress, Toulouse, France, 2017, pp. 12490-12495.
    [BibTex]
    @InProceedings{Aschauer17,
    author = {Aschauer, A. and Roetzer, F. and Steinboeck, A. and Kugi, A.},
    title = {An Efficient Algorithm for Scheduling a Flexible Job Shop with Blocking and No-Wait Constraints},
    booktitle = {Proceedings of the 20th IFAC World Congress},
    year = {2017},
    volume = {50},
    number = {1},
    month = {7},
    pages = {12490-12495},
    doi = {doi.org/10.1016/j.ifacol.2017.08.2056},
    address = {Toulouse, France},
    issn = {2405-8963},
    }

Applications

  • Automation of hot-rolling mills
  • Industrial furnaces
  • Time- and sequence optimization of production processes

Funding organisations

This research work is part of the EU project SemI40, which is funded by the programme ECSEL Joint Undertaking (Grant Agreement No. 692466) and the programme “IKT der Zukunft” (project number: 853343) of the Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit) between May 2016 and April 2019. More information on IKT der Zukunft can be found at https://iktderzukunft.at/en/.

SemI40-Logo Logo bmvit

Zeit- und Reihenfolgeoptimierung für ein Grobblechwalzwerk mit Anwärmöfen im Chargenbetrieb

Projektschwerpunkte

  • Mathematische Modellierung von Anwärmöfen im Chargenbetrieb
  • Zeitoptimale Ansteuerung von Anwärmöfen
  • Optimale Zeitplanung von Erwärm,- Walz,- und Manipulationsprozessen
  • Reihenfolgeoptimierung für einen finiten Produktionshorizont

Beschreibung

In der Halbleiterindustrie kommen bei Sputter-Prozessen reine Metalle und spezielle Metalllegierungen als Sputter-Targets zum Einsatz. An diese Targets werden strenge Qualitätsanforderungen im Hinblick auf Form, Gefügestruktur und Reinheit gestellt, um eine entsprechend hochwertige Halbleiterfertigung zu garantieren. Die Herstellung von Sputter-Targets, insbesondere aus Werkstoffen mit hohen Schmelzpunkten (z.B. Molybdän), erfolgt dabei oft durch Sintern und anschließende Warmumformung. Beim Sintern wird Metallpulver in eine Form gepresst und erhitzt. Die so erhaltenen Sinterplatten werden in Öfen wiedererwärmt und an einem Walzgerüst zu Flachprodukten (Target-Platten) umgeformt.

Anlagenübersicht

Anlagenübersicht.

Abbildung 1 zeigt eine Prinzipskizze der untersuchten Anlage. Die Anlage besteht aus mehreren Öfen mit unterschiedlichen Temperaturniveaus, einem Rollgang mit Reversierwalzgerüst und einem Produktmanipulator. Der Manipulator ist für alle Transporte der Produkte zwischen den Öfen und dem Rollgang zuständig. Die Erwärmung der Platten in den Öfen nimmt um ein Vielfaches mehr Zeit in Anspruch als die einzelnen Walzstiche. Zusätzlich sind zwischen den Walzstichen oft Zwischenerwärmungen vorgesehen. Da heiße Produkte nicht zwischengelagert werden können, muss die Verfügbarkeit der benötigten Anlagenteile zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt stets garantiert sein. Die Produktivität der Anlage ist daher stark von den Ofenliegezeiten, sowie von der zeitlichen Verzahnung der Prozessschritte an den einzelnen Anlagenteilen abhängig. Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, einerseits die Ofenliegezeiten zu minimieren, und andererseits die Produktreihenfolge und die Startzeitpunkte der einzelnen Prozessschritte so zu wählen, dass die Anlage maximalen Durchsatz erzielt.

Als Grundlage für die Optimierung der Ofenliegezeiten wird ein thermisches Modell zur Simulation der Produkt- und Ofentemperaturen entwickelt. Abbildung 2 zeigt seinen formalen Aufbau. Dieses Simulationsmodell ermöglicht es, vorab minimale Heizzeiten zu berechnen und die Produkttemperatur während der Erwärmung im laufenden Betrieb mitzuschätzen. Zusätzlich dient das Modell als Entwurfsgrundlage einer modellbasierten Regelungsstrategie mit dem Ziel einer zeitoptimalen Ofenansteuerung.

Thermisches Modell

Thermische Modellierung der Öfen.

Des Weiteren wird ein Software-Werkzeug entwickelt, welches eine Optimierung der Produktreihenfolge und der Prozesszeiten vornimmt. Dieses Programm basiert auf den berechneten minimalen Heizzeiten und auf den bekannten Walz- und Manipulationszeiten aller Produkte eines zukünftigen Planungshorizonts. Das zugrundeliegende kombinatorische Optimierungsproblem (Flexible Job Shop Scheduling Problem) ist als NP-schwer bekannt. Das Problem kann durch eine Aufteilung in die Bestimmung der Prozesszeiten bei bekannter Produktreihenfolge und eine übergeordnete Optimierung der Produktreihenfolge gelöst werden. Die optimalen Prozesszeiten werden mit einem eigens entwickelten rekursiven Algorithmus ermittelt. Zur Optimierung der Produktreihenfolge kommen heuristische Methoden zum Einsatz.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • A. Aschauer, F. Roetzer, A. Steinboeck, and A. Kugi, An Efficient Algorithm for Scheduling a Flexible Job Shop with Blocking and No-Wait Constraints, in Proceedings of the 20th IFAC World Congress, Toulouse, France, 2017, pp. 12490-12495.
    [BibTex]
    @InProceedings{Aschauer17,
    author = {Aschauer, A. and Roetzer, F. and Steinboeck, A. and Kugi, A.},
    title = {An Efficient Algorithm for Scheduling a Flexible Job Shop with Blocking and No-Wait Constraints},
    booktitle = {Proceedings of the 20th IFAC World Congress},
    year = {2017},
    volume = {50},
    number = {1},
    month = {7},
    pages = {12490-12495},
    doi = {10.1016/j.ifacol.2017.08.2056},
    address = {Toulouse, France},
    issn = {2405-8963},
    }

Anwendungsbereiche

  • Walzwerksautomatisierung
  • Industrieöfen
  • Zeit- und Reihenfolgeoptimierung in Produktionsprozessen

Fördergeber

Diese Forschungsarbeiten sind Teil des EU-Projekts SemI40, welches durch das Programm ECSEL Joint Undertaking (Grant Agreement No. 692466) und durch das Programm “IKT der Zukunft” (Projektnummer: 853343) des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (bmvit) im Zeitraum von Mai 2016 bis April 2019 gefördert wird. Weiterführende Information zu IKT der Zukunft findet sich unter www.bmvit.gv.at/ikt.

SemI40-Logo Logo bmvit