Andreas Kugi
Univ.-Prof. Dr.techn.
(Head)

Room: CB0411
Tel.: +43 (1) 58801 376 15
E-mail: office@acin.tuwien.ac.at
Short Curriculum Vitae


Short Curriculum Vitae

Andreas Kugi is head of the Automation and Control Institute (ACIN) and full professor for complex dynamical systems at Technische Universität Wien, Austria. He received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from Technische Universität Graz, Austria, in 1992 and the Ph.D. (Dr.techn.) from the Johannes Kepler Universität (JKU), Linz, Austria, in 1995. In 2000, he got the Habilitation in the field of control theory and automatic control and he was a full professor for system theory and automatic control at Saarland University in Germany from 2002 to 2007. He was offered professor positions at Technische Universität Dresden and the Karlsruher Institut für Technologie.

His main research interests include the modeling, control and optimization of complex dynamical systems, the mechatronic system design, as well as robotics and process automation. He has been collaborating with more than 40 national and international companies, among which are Andritz, Bosch, Bernecker+Rainer, Continental, Dillinger Hüttenwerke, Engel, Festo, Hydac, Infineon, Plansee, Siemens, TTTech, voestalpine. These projects cover a large range of applications in the automotive industry, robotics, hydraulic, pneumatic, and electrical drives, energy systems, and advanced process control applications in the metal industry. In his work, he consequently strives for combining advanced system theory and control with real-world applications. In this way, he contributes to bridge the gap between theory and industrial practice.

Andreas Kugi has published more than 400 scientific papers, of which more than 120 in SCI- and SCIE-journals and more than 140 in full peer-reviewed conferences (for selected publications see https://www.acin.tuwien.ac.at/publikationen/cds/). Moreover, he is inventor or co-inventor of 98 patents in 34 patent families (source https://depatisnet.dpma.de 10/2017) and he has supervised more than 35 successfully completed PhD dissertations. Since 2014, Andreas Kugi has been heading the Christian Doppler Laboratory for Model-Based Process Control in the Steel Industry (https://www.acin.tuwien.ac.at/cdlab-kugi/) and since 2017 he is the Head of the Center for Vision, Automation & Control at the Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT), see https://www.ait.ac.at/ueber-das-ait/center/center-for-vision-automation-control/.

Apart from many other activities, Andreas Kugi was the Editor-in-Chief of the IFAC journal Control Engineering Practice from 2010-2017, he is the Chair of the IFAC TC 6.2. Mining, Mineral and Metal Processing, and Vice President of the Austrian Electrotechnical Association (OVE). He is a full member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) and he serves as a member of the Expert Commission of the German Excellence Initiative.

Andreas Kugi
Univ.-Prof. Dr.techn.
(Institutsvorstand)

Raum: CA0407
Tel.: +43 (1) 58801 376 15
E-Mail: office@acin.tuwien.ac.at
Kurzbiographie


Kurzbiographie

Andreas Kugi ist Vorstand des Instituts für Automatisierungs- und Regelungstechnik (ACIN) und Professor für komplexe dynamische Systeme an der Technischen Universität Wien. Im Jahr 1992 schloss er das Studium der Elektrotechnik an der Technischen Universität Graz ab und promovierte im Jahr 1995 zum Dr.techn. an der Johannes Kepler Universität (JKU) Linz. Seine Habilitation für das Fach Regelungstechnik und Regelungstheorie erlangte er im Jahr 2000 von der JKU Linz und in der Zeit von 2002 bis 2007 war er C4-Professor für Systemtheorie und Regelungstechnik an der Universität des Saarlandes in Deutschland. Er erhielt unter anderem Rufe an die Technische Universität Dresden und an das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie.

Seine Hauptinteressen in Forschung und Lehre liegen im Bereich der Modellierung, Regelung und Optimierung komplexer dynamischer Systeme, des mechatronischen Systementwurfes sowie in der Robotik und Prozessautomatisierung. Er pflegt Forschungskooperationen mit mehr als 40 Unter­nehmen im In- und Ausland wie beispielsweise Andritz, Bosch, Bernecker+Rainer, Continental, Dillinger Hüttenwerke, Engel, Festo, Hydac, Infineon, Plansee, Siemens, TTTech, voestalpine. Diese Projekte umfassen unterschiedlichste Anwendungen, von der Automobilindustrie über die Robotik und hydraulische, pneumatische und elektrische Antriebssysteme bis hin zu Energiesystemen und anlagen­über­greifenden Prozessautomatisierungslösungen in der metallver­arbei­tenden Industrie. Bei seinen Arbeiten ist er stets bestrebt, fortgeschrittene Konzepte der Systemtheorie und Regelungs­technik mit realen Fragestellungen zu kombinieren und damit Brücken zu schlagen zwischen der Theorie und der industriellen Praxis.

Andreas Kugi ist Autor oder Koautor von mehr als 400 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, davon mehr als 120 in SCI- und SCIE-Journalen und mehr als 140 hochwertig begutachteten Konferenzbeiträgen (ausgewählte Publikationen findet man unter https://www.acin.tuwien.ac.at/publikationen/cds/). Im Wei­teren ist er Erfinder oder Miterfinder von 98 Patenten in 34 Patentfamilien (Quelle https://depatisnet.dpma.de 10/2017) und er hat mehr als 35 erfolgreich abgeschlossene Disserta­tionen betreut. Seit 2014 leitet Andreas Kugi das Christian Doppler Labor für Modellbasierte Prozess­regelung in der Stahlindustrie (https://www.acin.tuwien.ac.at/cdlab-kugi/) und seit 2017 hat er auch die Leitung am Center for Vision, Automation & Control, Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) inne, siehe https://www.ait.ac.at/ueber-das-ait/center/center-for-vision-automation-control/.

Neben vielen weiteren Aktivitäten war Andreas Kugi Editor-in-Chief des IFAC Journals Control Engineering Practice von 2010-2017, er ist Vorsitzender des IFAC TC 6.2. Mining, Mineral and Metal Processing und Vizepräsident des Österreichischen Verbandes für Elektrotechnik (OVE). Er ist wirkliches Mitglied der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) und Mitglied im Expertengremium der Deutschen Exzellenzinitiative.