Application of Curved Tapes on 3D Objects

Project focus

  • Application of pre-cut tapes on freeform 3D surface
  • Draping process with a defined normal force
  • Traverse a tool along a surface-based path on a freeform 3D surface

Description

Robotic handling of deformable materials like, e. g. textiles, carbon and glass fiber fabrics, foils and paper, has been a challenging task in the industry for a long time, and has received great attention in research recently. Flexible automation on a human level has not yet been fully achieved for many handling tasks like, e. g., grasping, de-stacking and draping. The main challenges for the automated handling of deformable materials are their characteristics, in particular the nonlinear material behavior, the anisotropy, the diverse outer contours, the high dimensionality of the object state, and the wide range of material properties like porosity and density. In this context, many specialized mechatronic gripper solutions were implemented for grasping and transporting. However, high-mix and low-volume tasks require more flexible solutions.

This project presents a flexible approach for impedance-controlled wrinkle-free application of (curved) pre-cut adhesive tapes on freeform 3D surfaces. For this application, a surface-based path following control concept is developed, which provides a local coordinate frame based on the surface normal and the path tangent. Furthermore, the algorithms and solutions emerging from this application also represent a solution for a more general robotic problem, i. e. traversing a tool along a curved path on a freeform 3D surface with defined kinematic constraints.

The tape application process consists of the following steps and is depicted in Fig. 1:

  • (a) 2D tape application path: A planar tape application path is created on the shape of the planar tape
  • (b) 3D path mapping: The geometry and curvature of the planar tape application path is mapped onto the CAD model of the 3D object, which creates a 3D tape application path.
  • (c) Robot starting pose: The tape application process is simulated to determine a suitable starting joint configuration for the robot which results in a collisionfree execution and has a reasonable reserve with respect to the joint limits.
  • (d) Preparation and execution: The pre-cut tape is placed in the required starting position on the feed of the application tool and the robot performs the impedance-controlled tape application process.

Tape application process overview: (a) 2D tape application path, (b) 3D path mapping, (c) Robot starting pose, (d) Preparation and execution.

The surface-based path following control concept is demonstrated on a 3D-printed object, as shown in Fig. 2: The paths of the pre-cut tapes in (a) are mapped onto the discrete surface of the 3D object in (b). The tape application result is depicted in (c).

Experimental results of the tape application process on a 3D-printed object: (a) Pre-cut tapes (b) Projected paths on 3D object (c) Completed tape application

Videos

Selected publications

  • T. Weingartshofer, M. Schwegel, C. Hartl-Nesic, T. Glück, and A. Kugi, Collaborative Synchronization of a 7-Axis Robot, in Proceedings of the 8th IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems MECHATRONICS 2019, Vienna, Austria, 2019, pp. 507-512.
    [BibTex]
    @InProceedings{Weingartshofer2019,
    author = {Weingartshofer, T. and Schwegel, M. and Hartl-Nesic, C. and Gl\"uck, T. and Kugi, A.},
    title = {Collaborative Synchronization of a 7-Axis Robot},
    booktitle = {Proceedings of the 8th IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems MECHATRONICS 2019},
    year = {2019},
    volume = {52},
    number = {15},
    month = {9},
    pages = {507-512},
    doi = {10.1016/j.ifacol.2019.11.726},
    address = {Vienna, Austria},
    issn = {2405-8963},
    }
  • C. Hartl-Nesic, B. Bischof, T. Glück, and A. Kugi, Pfadfolgeregelung mit Konzepten für den Pfadfortschritt: Ein Assemblierungsszenario, at – Automatisierungstechnik, vol. 68, iss. 1, p. 44–57, 2020.
    [BibTex]
    @Article{Hartl-Nesic2020,
    author = {Hartl-Nesic, Christian and Bischof, Bernhard and Gl{\"u}ck, Tobias and Kugi, Andreas},
    title = {Pfadfolgeregelung mit Konzepten für den Pfadfortschritt: Ein Assemblierungsszenario},
    journal = {at -- Automatisierungstechnik},
    year = {2020},
    volume = {68},
    number = {1},
    pages = {44--57},
    issn = {2196-677X},
    doi = {10.1515/auto-2019-0114},
    }

Applications

  • Textile/garment industry
  • Fiber reinforced plastics industry
  • Food industry

Robotisches Bekleben von 3D-Objekten

Projektfokus

  • Aufkleben von zugeschnittenen Klebebändern auf Freiform-3D-Oberflächen
  • Drapieren mit einer definierten Normalkraft
  • Roboterwerkzeug entlang eines Oberflächenpfades auf einer Freiform-3D-Oberfläche führen

Beschreibung

Die robotische Handhabung von formlabilen Materialen, wie z.B. Textilien, Karbon- und Glasfaserstoffe, Folien und Papier, ist seit langem eine herausfordernde Aufgabe in der Industrie und das wissenschaftliche Interesse

Robotische Handhabung von formlabilen Materialien wie z. B. Textilien, Karbon- und Glasfasergewebe, Folien und Papier ist seit langem eine herausfordernde Aufgabe in der Industrie und haben in jüngster Zeit große Aufmerksamkeit in der Forschung erhalten. Eine flexible Automatisierung auf menschlichem Niveau wurde für viele Handhabungsaufgaben noch nicht erreicht, wie z.B. das Greifen, Abstapeln und Drapieren. Die Hauptherausforderungen für automatisierte Handhabung von formlabilen Materialien sind ihre Eigenschaften, insbesondere das nichtlineare Materialverhalten, die Anisotropie, die vielseitigen Außenkonturen, die hohe Dimension des Objektzustands und die Vielzahl von Materialparametern wie Porosität und Dichte. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden viele spezialisierte mechatronische Lösungen zum Greifen und Transportieren implementiert. Die Industrie benötigt jedoch für die hohe Vielfalt und geringe Stückzahl flexiblere Lösungen.

In diesem Projekt wird ein flexibler Ansatz für das impedanzgeregelte faltenfreie Aufkleben von zugeschnittenen Klebebändern auf 3D-Freiformflächen vorgestellt. Für diese Anwendung wird ein Konzept für eine oberflächenbasierte Pfadfolgeregelung entwickelt, das auf einem lokalen Koordinatensystem aufbaut, basierend auf der Oberflächennormalen und der Pfadtangente. Darüber hinaus stellen die Algorithmen und Lösungen, die aus dieser Anwendung hervorgehen, auch eine Lösung für ein allgemeineres Problem in der Robotik dar: das Durchlaufen eines Werkzeugs entlang eines gekrümmten Pfades auf einer 3D-Freiformoberfläche mit definierten kinematischen Einschränkungen.

Der Aufklebeprozess besteht aus den folgenden Schritten und ist in Abb. 1 dargestellt:

  • (a) 2D-Pfad für das Klebeband: Ein planarer Pfad wird auf der Form des planaren Klebebandes erstellt.
  • (b) Übertragen auf das 3D-Objekt: Die Geometrie und Krümmung des planaren Pfades wird auf das CAD-Modell des 3D-Objekts abgebildet, wodurch ein 3D-Pfad erstellt wird.
  • (c) Startposition des Roboters: Der Aufklebeprozess wird simuliert, um eine geeignete Startgelenkkonfiguration für den Roboter zu bestimmen, die zu einer kollisionsfreien Ausführung führt und eine angemessene Reserve in Bezug auf die Gelenkgrenzen aufweist.
  • (d) Vorbereitung und Ausführung: Das vorgeschnittene Klebeband wird in der erforderlichen Startposition dem Applikationswerkzeug platziert und der Roboter führt den impedanzgesteuerten Aufklebeprozess durch.

Aufklebeprozess im Überblick: (a) 2D-Pfad für das Klebeband, (b) Übertragen auf das 3D-Objekt, (c) Startposition des Roboters, (d) Vorbereitung und Ausführung.

Das oberflächenbasierte Konzept der Pfadfolgeregelung wird an einem 3D-gedruckten Objekt demonstriert, wie in Fig. 2 gezeigt: Die Pfade der zugeschnittenen Klebebänder in (a) werden auf die Oberfläche des 3D-Objekts in (b) übertragen. Das Ergebnis des Aufklebeprozesses ist in (c) dargestellt.

Experimentelle Ergebnisse für den Aufklebeprozess auf einem 3D-gedruckten Objekt: (a) Zugeschnittene Klebebänder (b) Übertragene 3D-Pfade auf das Objekt (c) Fertiggestelltes 3D-Objekt

Videos

Selected publications

  • T. Weingartshofer, M. Schwegel, C. Hartl-Nesic, T. Glück, and A. Kugi, Collaborative Synchronization of a 7-Axis Robot, in Proceedings of the 8th IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems MECHATRONICS 2019, Vienna, Austria, 2019, pp. 507-512.
    [BibTex]
    @InProceedings{Weingartshofer2019,
    author = {Weingartshofer, T. and Schwegel, M. and Hartl-Nesic, C. and Gl\"uck, T. and Kugi, A.},
    title = {Collaborative Synchronization of a 7-Axis Robot},
    booktitle = {Proceedings of the 8th IFAC Symposium on Mechatronic Systems MECHATRONICS 2019},
    year = {2019},
    volume = {52},
    number = {15},
    month = {9},
    pages = {507-512},
    doi = {10.1016/j.ifacol.2019.11.726},
    address = {Vienna, Austria},
    issn = {2405-8963},
    }
  • C. Hartl-Nesic, B. Bischof, T. Glück, and A. Kugi, Pfadfolgeregelung mit Konzepten für den Pfadfortschritt: Ein Assemblierungsszenario, at – Automatisierungstechnik, vol. 68, iss. 1, p. 44–57, 2020.
    [BibTex]
    @Article{Hartl-Nesic2020,
    author = {Hartl-Nesic, Christian and Bischof, Bernhard and Gl{\"u}ck, Tobias and Kugi, Andreas},
    title = {Pfadfolgeregelung mit Konzepten für den Pfadfortschritt: Ein Assemblierungsszenario},
    journal = {at -- Automatisierungstechnik},
    year = {2020},
    volume = {68},
    number = {1},
    pages = {44--57},
    issn = {2196-677X},
    doi = {10.1515/auto-2019-0114},
    }

Applications

  • Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie
  • Faserverstärkte Bauteile
  • Lebensmittelindustrie